The Commission for Research Networks promotes coordination offices of global research networks based in Switzerland. These work on current social and scientific challenges across disciplinary boundaries.more

Image: Zykwolf, stock.adobe.commore

The Commission

The Commission for research networks is a working group of the Executive Board of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT). It operates under the rules of procedure issued by the SCNAT Executive Board. The seven members elected by the SCNAT Executive Board represent as broad a spectrum of scientific disciplines as possible. They have a good knowledge of the actors and processes of the Swiss research landscape, of Swiss and international research funding, and they have experience with research networks.

Climatology, University of Bern

Sedimentology, EAWAG

Sedimentology, University of Fribourg

Environmental chemistry, EPF Lausanne

Particle physics

Environmental Sciences

Climate research, monitoring, Swiss National Parc


Commission for Research Networks
c/o Dr. Stefan Nussbaum
General secretariat
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern